3.6.13 MEN'S LACROSSE: Cavs Set For First Varsity Contest at Roberts Wesleyan

Men's Lacrosse, 2013-03-06

Walsh University is geared up and ready for its men’s lacrosse game as a varsity sport as it travels to Roberts Wesleyan College this Saturday with a 2 p.m. start. The Cavaliers have fielded a team for the past three seasons as a club sport, but have joined the varsity ranks with the move to NCAA Division II. For their first season, the Cavs will play as members of the Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC).


Roberts Wesleyan will have a few games under its belt and enter Saturday's non-conference affair with a record of 2-3. The Redhawks were recently defeated by nationally ranked No. 2 Le Moyne by a score of 19-5 Wednesday afternoon.

A total of 19 players will suit up for the first varsity game in the Cavs’ inaugural varsity season. First year head coach Jason Fautas has announced that four members of the 2013 Cavaliers will serve as co-captains for the upcoming season. The captains include seniors Tyler Murphy (Canton, OH/Jackson), Cody Stoll (Jackson Twp., OH/Jackson), PJ Scheetz (North Canton, OH/Jackson) and junior Josh Jacobs (Columbus, OH/Hilliard Darby).

“These young men are great leaders on and off the field.” Fautas said. “We as a staff know that these young men will help us build the foundation of our program.”

Of those 19, 14 players are returning letter winners from last years’ 6-2 squad that finished tied for second in the Central Collegiate Lacrosse Association’s East Division. Among the top returners are Mason Axline (Jr., Green, OH/HS), Ben Stephens (Jr., Murrysville, PA/Franklin Regional), and Ian Maurer (Jr., Jackson Township, OH/Jackson). Axline was the leading point scorer for the Cavs with 31 goals and 16 assists for 47 points. He was an MCLA All-America Third Team selection at midfield. Stephens added 15 goals and nine assists for 24 points, while Maurer scored 12 goals and eight assists for 20 points.

On the defensive end, Nick Sabatino (So., Massillon, OH/Jackson) and Nicholas Colston (Greentown, OH/Hoover) will lead the back lines with Jeff Balzano (Jr., Chesterland, OH/West Geauga) patrolling the pipes.

Other members of the ECAC include Alderson-Broaddus College (Philippi, W. Va.), Lake Erie College (Painesville, Ohio), Lindenwood University (Saint Charles, Mo.), Mercyhurst College (Erie, Pa.), Ohio Valley University (Vienna, W.Va.), Seton Hill University (Greensburg, Pa.), and Wheeling Jesuit University (Wheeling, W.Va.).

Live stats will be provided here.