4.21.12 MEN'S TRACK AND FIELD: Cavs Capture First AMC Championship Since 2003

Men's Track & Field, 2012-04-21

Walsh won the American Mideast Conference Championship in its final year as a member in the dual AMC/Ohio Independent Championship meet. The Cavaliers coasted to the AMC crown with 105 points with second place Roberts Wesleyan scoring 57 points. It is the first conference title since 2003 for the men.

In the OIC results, the Cavs finished fourth with 123 points. Cedarville cruised to the championship with 248 points. Malone finished with 164 for second, and Notre Dame College finished third with 139 points. Central State also participated and tallied 59 points.

The Cavaliers finished first in AMC scoring in 11 events. John Hamilton (Jr., Macedonia, OH/Nordonia) won both the 100 meter and 200 meter dash with times of 11.6 and 23.0 seconds, respectively. He was also the final leg of the 4x100 meter relay with John Scweinfurth (Sr., Medina, OH/HS), Craig Dougherty (So., Clinton, OH/Manchester), and Dan Harsh (Sr., Perry, OH/HS) that won with a time of 42.2 seconds. Harsh also won the long jump with a distance of 21-00.

Schweinfurth joined with Colin Davis (Sr., Carrollton, OH/HS), Justin Groubert (Fr., Hartville, OH/Lake), and David Moser (Fr., Bluffton, OH/HS) to win the 4x400 meter relay with a time of 3:30.5. Davis won the 400 hurdles with a time of 59.2. Groubert won the 800 meter run with a time of 2:01.3 and 1500 meter run with a time of 4:02.

The other three winners for Walsh were Anthony Skrabak (Sr., St. Clairsville, OH/HS) in the shot put with a distance of 44-09, Justin Eddy (So., Massillon, OH/Perry) in the steeplechase with a time of 9:47, and Phil Biedenbach (Sr., Alliance, OH/Martlington) in the hammer throw with a distance of 120-09.

The event was scored with all schools combined in the results and then seperately scored for the AMC and OIC.


Walsh (105)
Roberts Wesleyan (57)
Houghton (32)
Daemen (9)

Cedarville (248)
Malone (164)
Notre Dame (139)
Walsh (123)
Central State (59)