4.30.14 MEN'S TENNIS: Cabezon Named To All-GLIAC Second Team

Men's Tennis, 2014-04-30

(BAY CITY, Mich.) – The 2014 All-GLIAC Teams and season awards have been released and Walsh’s Pablo Cabezon (So., Santander, Cantabria, Spain/Calasanz Collegue) has been named as a Second Team selection. Cabezon was the Cavaliers’ only selection.

Cabezon went 10-12 at first singles during the year and was 5-6 in conference competition. Overall, he was 11-17 in singles competition. When paired with a teammate for doubles, his overall record was slightly better at 13-15. Cabezon spent most of his matches playing at the top spot in doubles as well where he went 9-7. All of those first doubles matches were played with Carlos Jaque (Chijuayante, Concepcion, Chile/Lycee Charles de Gaulle).

Walsh finished the season 10-12 overall and 3-8 in the conference.

Laurent Galarneau of Ferris State was named Player of the Year. Ohio Dominican’s Ritchie Kruunenberg was named Freshman of the Year. Kevin Kalinec of Michigan Tech was tabbed as Coach of the Year.


Coach of the Year
Kevin Kalinec                Michigan Technological University

Freshman of the Year
Ritchie Kruunenberg   Ohio Dominican University

Player of the Year
Laurent Galarneau       Ferris State University

Regular Season and Tournament Champion
Northwood University

First Team:
Laurent Galarneau          Ferris State
Ritchie Kruunenberg      Ohio Dominican
Jean Menard                     Northwood
Lorenzo Montegiorgi      Northwood
Manuel Ringlstetter        Findlay
Clement Charriere           Wayne State
Felipe dos Santos             Michigan Tech
Justin Tjon                          Ohio Dominican
Ben Fievet                          Tiffin


Second Team:
Francis Bertrand               Grand Valley State
Robin Semal                       Findlay
Andrew Darrell                 Grand Valley State
Pablo Cabezon                  Walsh
Billy Heckman                    Grand Valley State
Francis Nadeau                 Lake Superior
Laurent Mailloux              Ferris State
Robbie Ball                          Tiffin
Salikh Gilmutdinov          Northwood

Honorable Mention:
Otto Keresztes                  Ferris State
Built Yumuang                   Michigan Tech
Andrew Bole                      Grand Valley State
John Kidd                            University of Findlay
Konstantin Zhukov          Northwood University
Agustin Mangone            Tiffin University
Tyler Johnston                  Ohio Dominican
Stephane Robineau        Wayne State University