5.16.12 WOMEN'S SOCCER: Cavs Announce 2012 Schedule

Women's Soccer, 2012-05-16

Walsh University women’s soccer Head Coach David Renard has announced the 2012 schedule for this fall. Walsh will compete for the first year in the NCAA Division II Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference. Walsh begins the season with a home non-conference game on Friday, Aug. 31 against prior conference foe Roberts Wesleyan, the 2011 American Mideast Conference Tournament Champion and NAIA National tournament qualifier. The opener is followed up by non-conference games on the road against fellow GLIAC traveling partner Malone University and Ursuline College on Wednesday, Sept. 5 and Saturday, Sept. 8.

Walsh opens up GLIAC conference play with games at Northwood University on Friday, Sept. 14 and Saginaw Valley State University on Sunday, Sept. 16th. Those games are followed by a four game home stand beginning with in-state rival Notre Dame College on Friday, Sept. 21 and Lake Erie College on Sunday, Sept. 23 and ending Friday, Sept. 28 with Ferris State and 2011 NCAA Division II National Runner-Up, Grand Valley State University.

The Cavaliers begin October play with tough GLIAC conference games at Ohio Dominican and Ashland on Friday, Oct. 5 and Sunday, Oct. 7. Both teams earned berths in the GLIAC conference tournament in 2011. Walsh then begin its second four game home stand on Thursday, Oct. 11 against non-conference Cedarville University, another former AMC team that is making the move to NCAA Division II. That game is followed by Malone on Saturday, Oct. 13, Tiffin on Friday, Oct. 19, and Findlay on Sunday, Oct. 21. Walsh closes out its inaugural GLIAC campaign with a weekend trip to the Upper Peninsula for games against Northern Michigan and Michigan Tech on Friday, Oct. 26 and Sunday, Oct. 28.

Coach Renard commented on the schedule, “This plays out to be a very demanding schedule, but our girls are up for the challenge. We added tough non-conference games early on as we knew we had to be prepared going into the GLIAC conference. The Friday/Sunday format is new to us, but our added depth this year should help with keeping fresh legs on the field.”