1. Contact Us
  2. Walsh Email
  3. MyWalsh
  4. Online Learning
  5. ECN
  6. The Cavalier Center
  7. Giving

Alumni Board of Trustees Members

Mark Nugent - Class of 1970  


Cleveland Chapter

After graduating from Walsh in 1970 with a B.A. in Business, R. Mark Nugent achieved his CPA in 1972. Nugent spent 15 years as manager at Ernst & Young's Akron and Cleveland offices. He later went on to work as Director of National Accounting for Medical Mutual, and CFO and Treasurer at Inland Enterprises, Inc. Currently, Nugents owns Accounting Business Services in Cleveland, Ohio. He and his wife, Connie, have two sons – Joseph, 33, and Robert, 29. Nugent previously served as President of the Walsh Alumni Association from 1978-1981, and received the Outstanding Alumni Award in 1980. He is also a member of the University's Advisory Board, active in Annual Campaigns. In addition, Nugent has served five years as Treasurer of the Cuyahoga County Mental Health Board and as Treasure of St. Richard Catholic Church.

John Cunningham – Class of 1981

Vice President

Columbus Chapter

John Cunningham is a 1976 graduate of Youngstown Cardinal Mooney High School and a 1981 Graduate of Walsh University (Walsh College). He went on to pursue a Master's in Public Administration from The University of Akron. He has worked for the Boy Scouts of America, the Exchange Club Foundation for the Prevention of Child Abuse. Since 1991, Cunningham has worked for the State of Ohio where he is currently the CEO of the Ohio eTech Commission. He has served as the Section Chief for Child Welfare in the then-Ohio Department of Human Services (now the Department of Job and Family Services). He was involved in Welfare Reform and assisted in the merger of the Ohio Department of Human Services and the Ohio Bureau of Employee Services. Cunningham currently lives in Marysville, Ohio, with his wife, Michelle. Cunningham has two children, Sarah and Sean, both 2011 graduates of Walsh University. In Marysville John served on the City Planning Commission for over 14 years. He was also a member of the City Design Review Board and the Marysville Uptown Revitalization Team.

Jennifer Grossman - Class of 2006

Akron/Canton Chapter

Jennifer Grossman is a CPA and assurance supervisor at Bruner-Cox LLP, where she works with clients in the manufacturing, wholesale distribution, health care, nonprofit and employee benefit plan industries. Grossman is also a member of the Ohio Society of Certified Public Accountants, the Health Care Conference Planning Committee and the yStark! Education Committee.


Dana Allender - Class of 1996

Cleveland Chapter

As InfoCision Management Corporation's Vice President of Business Development, Dana Allender has worked with some of our largest, most well-known companies in the United States. In this role, he has been tasked with expanding the depth and breadth of InfoCision's client base across a variety of industries including telecommunications, consumer goods, financial services and the nonprofit sector. He is an active member of a number of other industry organizations including the Direct Marketing Association, Electronic Retailing Association, and Cleveland Direct Marketing Association. He currently serves as the 2013 Chairman for the Greater Cleveland Council Boy Scouts of America Friends of Scouting Campaign and was recently elected as a board member to Coach Sam's Inner Circle Foundation. He has also volunteered with several nonprofit organizations such as the YMCA, Big Brothers Big Sisters, and the Cleveland Clinic Emerging Leaders Board, among others.

Mark Carrow - Class of 1982


A CPA and managing partner of Citrin Cooperman's Philadelphia office, Mark Carrow provides tax services and business consulting advice, with a focus on implementing tax and financial planning strategies to optimize business strategies. In addition to the Walsh Alumni Board, he is a member of the American and Pennsylvania Institutes of CPAs.


Renee Lesko - Class of 1988

Detroit Chapter

Originally from Cleveland, Ohio, Renee Lesko earned her B.A. in Finance and Management from Walsh University and her MBA from University of Detroit in 1993. A Certified Management Accountant (CMA) and member of the Detroit Chapter of the Institute of Management Accountants, Lesko is Vice President of Accounting Services for Lafarge North America, the largest diversified supplier of construction materials in the U.S. and Canada. Lafarge is also where Lesko began her career in 1989, holding a variety of finance and accounting positions in Southfield, Mich.; Kansas City, Mo., and northern Virginia. An active member at St. James Catholic Church in Novi, Lesko also volunteers with Girl Scouts of Southeast Michigan as well as the local Novi Girl Scouts. She currently resides in Novi, Mich., with her husband John, and their 14-year-old daughter, Hannah.

Tony Orahoske - Class of 1982

Washington D.C. Chapter

Tony is a partner in KPMG's Mid-Atlantic Internal Audit, Risk & Compliance Services practice with over 28 years of diverse audit/internal audit, advisory and operational experience, which is highlighted by significant contributions and leadership roles in the areas of SOX implementation and compliance, risk assessments, program/project management, business/operational process reviews and startups, acquisition due diligence, merger integration, working capital/inventory assessments, six sigma initiatives, and contract/regulatory compliance. Tony has extensive experience with improving control environments and continuous monitoring and reporting processes for clients in the United States and globally. He served as the Professional Practice Lead Internal Audit Consultation Partner and as a trainer/instructor for operational process reviews and Internal Controls over Financial Reporting (ICOFR) assistance. Furthermore, Tony served as KPMG's national strategic quality performance reviewer for the past three years.

Mark Ratti Sr. - Class of 1966

Pittsburgh Chapter

A 1966 Walsh graduate, Mark Ratti Sr. is a licensed real estate broker and member of the National Association of REALTORS. He currently works as a RE/MAX CSI realtor in the Pittsburgh area, and was the recipient of the RE/MAX Lifetime Achievement Award in 2005. In addition to his professional accolades, which are many, Ratti has been active in his community for several years. Current and past involvements include Peters Township and West Jefferson Hills Chambers of Commerce, Hillcrest Christian School and Steel City Boy Scouts, among others. Ratti was also the 1982 recipient of the Outstanding Alumni Award. Ratti currently resides in Pittsburgh. He has three children and five grandchildren.

Cathy Shew - Class of 1979

Akron/Canton Chapter

Cathy Shew is Director of Business Development for FirstEnergy in Akron, Ohio, where she is involved in mergers, acquisitions, divestitures and corporate strategy. A graduate of the Leadership Akron Class XXVII, Shew also serves as President of the Board of Trustees for Summit Housing Development Corporation and is a former recipient of the YWCA Women of Professional Excellence Award.


Donate Now

E-news signup