Dr. Timothy J. Collins Installed as Seventh President of Walsh University

November 17, 2020, marked a momentous occasion in Walsh University history. Walsh formally welcomed Timothy J. Collins, Ed.D., as its seventh president with an Installation Holy Mass and Ceremony, 60 years to the day from when Walsh first opened its doors to students.

Though originally envisioned as a multi-day celebration during pre-COVID planning, in true 2020 fashion, the Installation was redesigned as a more intimate event shared throughout the greater community through video messages, personalized reflections and YouTube livestream from the Barrette Business and Community Center.

President Collins announced seven new initiatives during his Installation Address describing how the number seven is symbolic in our faith and specifically for Walsh University.

 “Let us pause for a silent moment to petition the patroness of the Brothers of Christian Instruction, God’s Holy Mother, Walsh University’s First Lady, and Our Lady of Perpetual Help, to pray for us as we mark this inflection in history and hinge moment in our own institutional life. We ask for much strength, wisdom, and courage across all of Cav Nation as we recommit ourselves and our campus to this mission brought to Ohio by our seven Brothers on November 17, 1960,” said Dr. Tim Collins during his Installation Address. “1 Corinthians 3:7 forms our motto:  Sed Deus Dat Incrementum. The President of Walsh University affirmed this truth publicly at our 10th Anniversary. Our 20th Anniversary. Our 30th Anniversary. Our 40th Anniversary. Our 50th Anniversary. And I stand today to join in that chorus of Presidents here at our 60th Anniversary: God grants the increase.”

Video congratulations poured in from across the country to be played during the ceremony and included friends, colleagues and officials representing various sectors of the United States Military, state and federal governments and the Catholic Church. Congratulatory messages were received by The Honorable Mike DeWine, Governor of the State of Ohio; U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos; Archbishop of the U.S. Military Services Timothy Broglio, J.C.DA.; Provincial of the Brothers of Christian Instruction Mario Houle, F.I.C.; President and CEO, Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities Rev. Dennis H. Holtschneider, Ed.D.; and the Apostolic Nunciature Archbishop Christophe Pierre, among many others. See below for highlights from the event.

Special Greetings and Reflections

Congratulations from the Community

Apostolic Nunciature is Archbishop Christophe Pierre

Certificates from Around the Globe

60th Anniversary Video

During the Installation Holy Mass and Ceremony, Official Greetings were presented by retired General Philip M. Breedlove, United States Air Force, Dr. Ralph D. Semmel, Director of Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory and Walsh Chair of the Board of Directors Mr. E. Jeffrey Rossi, who formally Presented Dr. Collins with the Presidential Seal.

Dr. Collins joined Walsh as President on August 5, 2019. As President, he oversees all activities furthering the mission of developing leaders in service to others. With a value-based education in the Judeo-Christian tradition, Walsh is located on a multi-national 135-acre campus, with 2,700 students and 400 faculty and staff in North Canton, Ohio. Dr. Collins’ Installation as President was an historic highpoint during the University’s 2020 Founders Week Celebration November 16-20, held in honor of the 60th Anniversary of the University’s founding by the Brothers of Christian Instruction.

Dr. Collins brings more than 22 years of senior-level experience to Walsh University as a distinguished higher education professional with leadership expertise in philanthropic endeavors, conceptualization and implementation of institutional strategic plans and a demonstrated understanding of a private university’s mission, student-centered culture and Catholic traditions. Click here to learn more about Dr. Tim Collins. 


Past Presidents of Walsh University
Br. Thomas Farrell, F.I.C., 1960–70

Br. Robert Francoeur, F.I.C., 1971–77

Br. Francis Blouin, F.I.C., 1978–92

Fr. Richard Mucowski, O.F.M., 1992–96

Dr. Kenneth Hamilton, 1997–01

Mr. Richard Jusseaume, 2001–19