As we conclude the 2019–20 academic year, we recognize the accomplishments of our students, faculty and staff. Although the celebrations may look a little different this year, we found unique ways to honor the award recipients. Congratulations to all the honorees from the Cav Nation community near and far!

Download a PDF of our commencement program.

A Glimpse at the Class of 2020

Several of the graduates submitted their photos with us to share with the Walsh community. View the photo slideshow on YouTube.

Tower of Excellence Award

photo of Alex Branham

Special congratulations to Alex Branham on being selected as the 2020 TOWER of Excellence Award Recipient. The TOWER of Excellence Award is the most prestigious non-academic award given at Walsh University. It is presented to the senior who had during his/her Walsh years displayed outstanding leadership qualities, exemplary interest in co-curricular and extracurricular work, and social and moral behavior that fulfills the mission of Walsh University. Read more about Alex.

This year's finalists were Alex Branham, Fred del Guidice, John Fallon, Jacqueline Noelker and Kate Shannon. View the full list of nominees and read more about the finalists.

Outstanding Student Award

photo of Allison Stump

Senior Allison Stump has been recognized with The Outstanding Student Award, Walsh's most prestigious academic honor. This award is given annually to a graduating senior with a high cumulative grade point average, a record meeting rigorous challenges, and demonstrated ability to apply intellectual mastery. Learn more about Allison..

Female and Male Athletes of the Year

photo of Andra Lehotay photo of Darryl Straughter

The Walsh Cavaliers athletic department is proud to announce that senior Andra Lehotay and junior Darryl Straughter have been named the University’s Female and Male Athletes of the Year. These honors are voted on by the head coaches and the Walsh athletic administration. Read more about the Athlete of the Year honorees.

photo of the Academic Deans standing outdoors

Outstanding Senior Awards

Congratulations to the 2020 Outstanding Seniors! These students maintained academic excellence in their fields of study throughout their time at Walsh. View the announcement of each student from their respective deans..

Faculty and Staff Honors

photo of Chad Gerber photo of Ben Walther

The Walsh University Class of 2020 has named Assistant Professor of Theology Dr. Chad Gerber and Director of Campus Ministry Ben Walther as this year’s Outstanding Educator and Mentor of the Year. These most distinguished honors bestowed upon faculty and staff, are selected annually by the graduating class.

View their acceptance speeches.

Academic, Service and Athletic Distinctions

Walsh University is proud to honor the following students for their exemplary contributions in academics, service and athletics for 2019-2020.

Student Leadership Scholarships

The outstanding achievements of seven Walsh students were honored with the awarding of scholarships that reflect the breadth and depth of the Walsh University experience. The Marc Deighton Scholarship was awarded to Katelyn Hampu; Charles St. James Scholarship was awarded to Anabelle Gaj, Allison Brazer and Madison Markus; Richard Gulling Leadership Scholarship awarded to Matthew Esterle, Morgan Rowan and Zachary Sturmi.

Read more about the Student Leadership scholarship recipients.

DeVille School of Business Dean Carole Mount Endowed Scholarship

This year's recipients are Mattison Davis and Jacob Caniford. The two $1500 business student scholarships are traditionally announced during the annual DeVille School of Business Scholarship Luncheon hosted by the Business Club and awarded to students who exemplify the mission of the DeVille School of Business.

Read more about the Dean Carole Mount scholarship recipients.