Walsh University is proud of the accomplishments and contributions of its more than 17,000 alumni across the globe. Each year the Alumni Association recognizes the achievements of individual alums through the following awards, which is typically held on the Friday of Homecoming Weekend in September.

Outstanding Achievement Award

The Outstanding Achievement Award honors alumni for their achievements, leadership and contributions to their professions, their communities and their alma mater. Nominees are kept on file and reviewed annually for five years. A maximum of two awards are given annually.

Professional Achievement Award

The Professional Achievement Award, created in 2017 honors alumni for exemplary professional or career achievements. Nominees are kept on file and reviewed annually for five years. A maximum of two awards are given annually.

Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service award was established to recognize alumni who have provided exemplary service to Walsh University. The Alumni Association Board of Trustees nominates and selects a maximum of two individuals to receive this award each year.

Young Alumni Leadership Award

This award was created in 2017 to recognize our young alumni who have experienced early career success, provide service to their community, and understand the value of a relationship with their alma mater. 

Wall of Fame

The Walsh University Wall of Fame was established in 1982 to honor and recognize the men and women who have exhibited excellence to the varsity athletic programs at Walsh University. The criteria for this award are listed below.This award is given at a seperate awards night in January. 


This award is given to a Walsh alum that has been graduated for at least seven years prior to selection.This alum participated in an intercollegiate program as a junior or a senior, made All-Conference or All-District, or received some level of national recognition. Finally, this nominee has been an outstanding athletic representative of Walsh University and the community.


This Wall of Fame Award honors an individual whose positive impact has enriched the lives of his/her student-athletes, fellow coaches, and the Walsh community. To qualify for induction into the Wall of Fame in the category of coach the individual must have exemplified the philosophies of Walsh by upholding its ideals and having served in the best interest of the Athletic Department.

Meritorious Service

To qualify for induction into the Wall of Fame in the category of meritorious service the individual must have, over a period of years, exhibited unparalleled dedication, loyalty, and commitment to Walsh and the Walsh community.


photo: 2022 Outstanding Alumni Award Winners


Thursday, September 21

The Walsh University Office of Alumni Relations will honor five Outstanding Alumni Awards recipients on Thursday, September 21, 2023. This group of alumni demonstrate the mission of Walsh University in their daily lives through the work they do in their profession, homes, and communities. This year's recipients include:

Outstanding Achievement Award
Theresa Rizzo-Novak ’95

Distinguished Service Award
Janet Howard ’92 ’96

Professional Achievement Award
Kylee Dawson D.O. ’13
Tim Mead ’81

Young Alumni Leadership Award
Dean Miller, Jr. ’15

Cocktail hour begins at 5:15 p.m. followed by dinner at 6:00 p.m.
Tickets $45. To purchase tickets, click button below or contact Stephanie Koontz at skoontz@walsh.edu or 330.244.4943.